I Dont Need More Faith

I Don’t Need More Faith

For a long while I was under the impression that I had to have a large quantity of faith in order to see big things happening in my life and do great exploits for the Lord, I would get frustrated as I felt I wanted ‘more faith’ and wasn’t getting it. I understood that without faith it was impossible to please God and because I wanted to please God so much I coveted after an increase of faith. I was missing the point.

Just the other night I was reading the book of Luke the 17th chapter and read something that has pretty much changed my life forever.

“And the apostles said unto the Lord, Increase our faith.

And the Lord said, If ye had faith as a grain of mustard seed, ye might say unto this sycamine tree, Be thou plucked up by the root, and be thou planted in the sea; and it should obey you.”
‭‭Luke‬ ‭17:5-6‬ ‭KJV

I read this and thought ‘woah!’. It made sense instantly.

It’s not about the AMOUNT of faith that I have that matters, what matters is the that I actually have faith and I learnt that I more needed to exercise the little faith I had. Embracing this beautifully increased my trust in God and HIS power and thankfully shifted my focus away from the quantity and power of my faith.

John Piper wrote something so profound on this, he said:

“First, he strengthens our faith by telling us in verse 6 that the crucial issue in accomplishing great things to advance the kingdom of God is not the quantity of our faith, but the power of God. He says, “If you had faith like a mustard seed, you would say to this mulberry tree, ‘Be uprooted and be planted in the sea’; and it would obey you.” By referring to the tiny mustard seed after being asked about increased faith, he deflects attention away from the quantity of faith to the object of faith. God moves mulberry trees. And it does not depend decisively on the quantity of our faith, but on his power and wisdom and love. In knowing this we are helped not to worry about our faith and are inspired to trust God’s free initiative and power.”

http://www.desiringgod.org/articles/how-jesus-helped-his-disciples-increase-their-faith

I’m encouraged to now focus on the power of Christ rather than the power of my own faith. So long as faith is not absent, and doubt is not present I can rest assured that God is pleased and He will move. Isn’t that exciting!

That’s it from me. Hopefully what I shared made sense lol

Be thankful that you have faith, be confident in the mustard seed faith you have and avoid coveting an increase of faith that isn’t necessarily what we need.

Trust Christ.

Much Love,

Andrea

Leave a Reply

